40 Schools to offer new Computer Science Leaving Cert announced

follow 3 pngMinister for Education Richard Bruton today announced the 40 schools that will offer the new Leaving Certificate Computer Science from September 2018, and be the first schools to sit an exam on the subject in 2020. The announcement comes after years of build-up which has been covered in previous posts. Those outside Ireland can read more about the Irish ‘Leaving Certificate’ here but briefly, it is the Irish equivalent of the final stage of secondary school, often called ‘high school’, although some aspects such as assessment, are drastically different from many North American models. Schools were invited to apply to participate in the first phase of the subject’s roll-out and the 40 that have been selected are:

1. Abbey Vocational School The Glebe, Donegal Town, Co. Donegal
2. Adamstown Community College Station Rd, Adamstown, Co. Dublin
3. Breifne College Cootehill Rd, Cavan, Co. Cavan
4. Bush Post Primary Riverstown, Dundalk, Co. Louth
5. Carrigaline Community School Waterpark, Carrigaline, Co. Cork
6. Castleblayney College Dublin Road, Castleblayney, Co. Monaghan
7. Christ King Girls Secondary School Half Moon Lane, South Douglas Road, Cork
8. Clongowes Wood College Clane, Co. Kildare
9. Coláiste an Chraoibhin Duntaheen Road, Fermoy, Co. Cork
10. Coláiste Bríde New Road, Clondalkin, Dublin 22
11. Coláiste Chiaráin Croom, Co. Limerick
12. Coláiste Choilm Ballincollig, Co. Cork
13. Coláiste Mhuire Mullingar, Co. Westmeath
14. Coláiste na Ríochta Listowel, Co. Kerry
15. Colaiste Phadraig Roselawn, Lucan, Co. Dublin
16. Coláiste Pobail Setanta Phibblestown CC, Phibblestown, Dublin 15
17. Creagh College Carnew Road, Gorey, Co. Wexford
18. Dominican College Sion Hill Sion Hill, Blackrock, Co Dublin
19. Ennistymon Vocational School Ennistymon, Ennis, Co. Clare
20. Gaelcholaiste Mhuire AG An Mhainistir Thuaidh, Corcaigh
21. Le Chéile Secondary School Hollystown Road, Tyrellstown, Dublin 15
22. Loreto College Swords, Co. Dublin
23. Luttrellstown Community College Mill Road, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15
24. Mayfield Community School Old Youghal Road, Mayfield, Cork
25. Moate Community School Church Street, Moate, Co. Westmeath
26. Mount Sion CBS Barrack Street, Waterford
27. Mount Temple Comprehensive Malahide Road, Dublin 3
28. Presentation Secondary school Clonmel, Co. Tipperary
29. Rice College Castlebar Road, Westport, Co. Mayo
30. Sacred Heart Secondary School Convent of Mercy, Clonakilty, Co. Cork
31. Saint Eunan’s College Letterkenny, Co. Donegal
32. St Aidan’s Comprehensive School Cootehill, Co. Cavan
33. St Brigids Mercy Secondary School Convent Of Mercy, Tuam, Co. Galway
34. St Joseph’s Secondary School Convent Lane, Rush, Co. Dublin
35. St Mary’s CBS Millpark Road, Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford
36. St Vincent’s Secondary School Seatown Place, Dundalk, Co. Louth
37. St. Finian’s Community College Swords, Co. Dublin
38. Stratford College 1 Zion Road, Rathgar, Dublin 6
39. Synge St CBS Synge St., Dublin 8
40. Terenure College Templeogue Road, Terenure, Dublin 6W

Irish news has been all over this today – more here.


2 thoughts on “40 Schools to offer new Computer Science Leaving Cert announced

  1. Pingback: CS4Philly – CS0

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.